Impulse Buys and Recent Reads

Well, one of them isn’t really an impulse buy, in the sense that I’ve thought about it over and over and over: The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti. I also bought Shelf Discovery and the first Vladimir Tod, Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer.

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers, Book 1) by Rachel Vincent

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers, Book 1) by Rachel Vincent

3

I just finished My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent. It was all right. It’s an easy read, fairly clean (for those of you who are concerned about that kind of thing), but not particularly riveting, unless you like screaming. I had a hard time recreating the action in my head. A lot of it reads fairly slow-motion, with Kaylee trying to stop herself from screaming while near a dying person. The physical effect of reading about so much dry-heaving, dizziness, blurred vision, barely containable keening, etc. is very, very uncomfortable. The romance is rather weak and relies on supernatural, oh-look-we’re-the-same-species rules of attraction.

I give it a 3 out of 5 stars:

+1 for mythology,

+1 for a good plot twist at the end,

-1 for lame love interest, and

-1 for overly-emotional males. I’ve never seen so many grown men weeping in one book.

Starting The Road by Cormac McCarthy and Sea Glass by Maria V. Snyder today!

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

Leave a Reply

