Sleeping on the Job

Actually, I have a pair of overnights this week where we stock the shelves while the store’s closed and make the store all nice and pretty! So yeah, I’m kind of pooped and not in the mood for reading (eyestrain being what it is). But that doesn’t mean you can’t have a little cover eyecandy.

What I just finished reading:

Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

5

Yep, this is the killer unicorn book! Peterfreund pulls it off with Buffy-like strength and agility (and fashion sense, and weapons/tactical skills). Review forthcoming.

I also just unpacked

Ash by Malinda Lo

Ash by Malinda Lo

and

Devils Kiss by Sarwat Chadda

Devil's Kiss by Sarwat Chadda

so look for those in your local bookstores tomorrow, along with the eagerly (rabidly, incontinently) awaited:

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I haven’t seen our Mockingjay pins come in yet, but I hope they’re here somewhere… I need one!!! Found them, and bought a whole bunch. The perks of working slaving away in the bookstore.

Edit: I forgot, this isn’t until October 5th. Mark your calendars!

Fire by Kristin Cashore

Fire by Kristin Cashore

Ok, a little nap before I go to work for all you book-loving fiends (local ones, anyway).

(Speaking of fire, there is a California wildfire wreaking havoc just north of where I live. Fingers crossed that it doesn’t come down here! It’s less than 15 miles away now, and 0% contained. My uncle’s house is just 1 mile from the current edge of the fire zone) Fire deleted. Phew.

– – –

OoH! One more thing. Watch this space: ninamalkin.com — author Nina Malkin is having a contest on 9/1 for some signed books. Spread the word!!!

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

2 Responses to Sleeping on the Job

  1. Deborah says:

    I’m on the library’s hold list for “Catching Fire,” and have been waiting since March! I loved “Hunger Games.”

  2. Pingback: Diana Peterfreund Blog | A Rampant Update, Fan art, and Signing News

Leave a Reply

