Quickie – Home by Marilynne Robinson

Home by Marilynne RobinsonHome by Marilynne Robinson

Home by Marilynne Robinson

5 stars – but I can’t say stay up all night for this one, so I’ll leave off the graphic. Marilynne Robinson won a Pulitzer for Gilead in 2005, and even without having read that book, I can see why. Her prose gives you a different kind of thrill–no vampires, espionage, or earth-shattering romance will you find here. Spiritual scrutiny, check. Childhood innocence, check. Grown-up disappointments, check. This is the story of the prodigal son told in the context of Gilead in ’50s Iowa, in a house that was once a home to eight children: “a place they would mean to return to more than they did.” Home tells a story of family love, betrayal, change, and redemption. I say, don’t stay up all night because you’ll need time to re-examine and digest what you’ve read.

Reading Home made me want to write to my mother, say my prayers, and re-read all those books I was assigned in sophomore English that I was far too young and inexperienced to properly appreciate. More than anything, it made me want to read Gilead. I wouldn’t be surprised if this ended up on future high school and college reading lists for American Lit.

See also:

The Human Comedy

The Human Comedy

A Death in the Family

A Death in the Family

Cold Sassy Tree

Cold Sassy Tree

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

Leave a Reply

