Ahahahaha.

Sony Pocket Blue

Sony Pocket Blue

I got one of these today!!! ^_^

My husband and I had been talking about getting one for ages. I mean, ages!

And finally this morning, I got my tuition reimbursement (for classes I dropped this semester because of work conflicts).

Me: I guess I’ll put it in the savings account, for next year when I go back to school.

Husband: I thought you wanted to get the Sony Reader.

Me: ?

Husband: Well, you know, it’s pretty much the cost plus enough for your first few books.

Me: !

Husband: So, do you want pink or blue? I’d go with the blue.

Me: *swoons*

I was pretty much in agony at work all day because he bought it just before I started my shift, took it home and charged it up… So it wasn’t until 9 hours later that I got to go home and play with it.

– – –

In the words of Jacky Faber: Hee hee.

Here’s what I got with my first $25 in eBook card money:

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood (yep, I’m returning the hardcover copy I just bought–pretty though it is, the eBook is slightly cheaper!)

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (for just $1.99)

Black Hole by Charles Burns (a graphic novel–can’t wait to see how it looks! I’ve seen manga on an earlier generation of Sony Reader and they look great.)

And *for free*:

Maximum Ride by James Patterson (which I could never bring myself to buy in any format before)

My Soul to Lose by Rachel Vincent (prequel to My Soul to Take, which I’ve already read and don’t particularly feel the need to keep the paper copy of… so watch out for a contest ^_^)

Perdido Street Station by China Mieville (which we have in 2 different sizes of paperback… I don’t know why)

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey (which I just saw on the shelf today and thought, Oooh! I should buy this. Then thought the better of it since we just spent $250 on Sony Reader and eBooks. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I found out I could download the whole thing for free!!!)

And a Pip & Flinx adventure, For the Love of Mother–Not by Alan Dean Foster.

*dancing*

With the money I’ll save from returning Gate at the Stairs (Moore) and Year of the Flood (Atwood), I can buy Nocturnes (Ishiguro) on eBook! I’m so clever.

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

5 Responses to Ahahahaha.

  1. Juju says:

    Congrats! I’ve been thinking of getting one of these too! 🙂

  2. Deborah says:

    I had not heard of this Sony Blue. It’s like a Kindle? Let us know how you like reading on it! I’m hesitant; I love the physical books so much…but how convenient to carry many books in such a small compact way.

    Deborah

    • frootjoos says:

      It’s a Sony Pocket, actually. Blue just refers to the color.
      I love it so far–I’m even going to take a couple of books back to my store and get the eBooks instead. Mostly because I am starting to just put new books in piles on the floor like the girls in the manga/anime Read or Die. ^_^

  3. Jill says:

    I so go back and forth between wanting one of these or not. My dilemma is that most books I buy are for my classroom library. I read them first and them add them if appropriate. I wouldn’t be able to do that with an ereader.

    After you’ve had it for awhile – give us an updated review!

    • frootjoos says:

      Yes, I see how that would be a problem. Although–and I haven’t had a chance to try this out with mine yet, but will soon–some libraries do have eBook borrowing–you download the eBook online (after signing up for an account with the library’s eBook division, then after 2 wks or whatever the borrowing period is, it deletes or won’t open until you borrow it again. I signed up for a card with LA Public Library, which I will be picking up on Saturday, just so I could try this service.

      So theoretically, you could borrow the eBook, decide if it’s good for your classroom, then buy the physical copy!

      It also looks like Sony gives away free eBooks on a daily/weekly basis–you just have to check frequently. I am so glad I checked the first day, I got The Monstrumologist for free, that I almost bought in hardcover that day!

      I am loving the convenience of it–I don’t have to pick which book to bring when I go out, I just bring my iPod and my eReader and I have like, 50 books between the two of them at minimum.

Leave a Reply

