Aaaaand, we’re back! In 5, 4, 3, 2…

I have a day off!!! I’d like to celebrate this day off by reading like, 5 books. Actually, I get almost 2 full days off work, plus another one right after, so 5 is a very realistic goal at this point.

The first one will definitely be The Rapture of the Deep: Being an Account of the Further Adventures of Jacky Faber, Soldier, Sailor, Mermaid, Spy (Bloody Jack, Book 7) by L.A. Meyer. There are a number of absolutes pertaining to this book:

  • I absolutely will give it a 5-star rating, even though I’m only about 50 pages into it so far (I kept thinking through books 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 that this guy couldn’t possibly write the perfect book for me n+1 times in a row, and I was wrong every time, so let’s just end that doubtful equation right here)
  • I absolutely will re-read it on audio, for the series is always read by the ridiculously clever-sounding Katherine Kellgren, on whom I have an audible crush.
  • I absolutely have to finish it before the next time I work with Stephanie, who has a photographic memory, is a lightning-fast reader (no, not kidding, you think I’m fast? She finished Rick Riordan’s The Last Olympian in like, 3 hours–it would take me at least 6), and who has been teasing me that if I don’t hurry up and read, she will spoil the heck out of Rapture for me! Stephanie: “Oh, and that time Higgins did *this*?! Classic! Oh, you didn’t read that part yet? Well, too bad, Slowpoke!”

In fact, to save time, let’s just do this:

Rapture of the Deep by L.A. Meyer

Rapture of the Deep by L.A. Meyer


5

In preparation for YABC on the 25th, I will be re-reading The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. Both were 5-star reads for me, but I definitely need a refresher if we’re going to discuss them. See also: Battle Royale by Koushon Takami. I haven’t read it, but my husband got halfway before he was so thoroughly depressed when the story kept killing off the “main” character and replacing him or her with a new one. He still plans to finish it, and I plan to read it someday but it’s not that high up on my TBR list (which is now a disturbing 1176 books long).

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins


Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I’ll also be reading Retail Hell by Freeman Hall (subtitled How I Sold My Soul to the Store: Confessions of a Tortured Sales Associate). I’ve met Freeman, he’s hilarious and friendly and I know I’m going to love this book too, especially after the retail misery that I just lived through this past week. I’m hoping he’ll also inspire my tell-all bookstore memoir (^_^) just kidding, Borders! I do try to release all of my customer-related frustrations out into the wild so they don’t affect my normally awesome customer service. But sometimes there are those ones you just can’t forget…

My fifth book will be A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb. Oh, don’t look at me like that. I’m already halfway through, I just got interrupted by the work shenanigans. And 2 of the 5 books I picked to read are re-reads, so it won’t take me too long to go through them again.

In addition, I’ll be doing some regular posts over the next couple of days. I really fell behind because of the job. I’ve definitely got lots of material for an IMM post, a few bookshelf photos, a Quickie review or two or three, and dare I say, a contest? (*gasp*!)

Some tune-ups due to the blog, too. Man, why do I work so much?

addiction...

addiction...

Oh, now I remember.

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

6 Responses to Aaaaand, we’re back! In 5, 4, 3, 2…

  1. Kristen says:

    I’m planning the same type of reading! I’m almost finished with Prophecy of the Sisters. I want to read Shiver, Give up the Ghost, Rapture of the Deep and a few other books.. during this FOUR DAY WEEKEND! I just love it. So, I’m sure I’ll finish PotS soon (60 pages left) and then I started both Shiver and Give up the Ghost, so I’ll be finishing one today, if not both. πŸ˜€ Woot for read-a-thons!

    • frootjoos says:

      I was so tired I fell asleep instead of reading last night, and now I just figured out I have to go to work for something… gaah! So I’ll be toting Rapture around on the bus today, running errands and such. I also got the new Audrey Niffenegger book, Her Fearless Symmetry, on audio. And my new Sony Reader Pocket, which I have just decided to nickname Pocky! So my read-a-thon is now portable… ^_^ have fun, K!

  2. Kristen says:

    I’m doing a 6-hour read a thon tomorrow with a twitter buddy – email her if you want to be a part of the fun! πŸ™‚
    princessashley9 (at) gmail (dot) com

    I already finished Prophecy of the Sisters and Give up the Ghost. I changed my mind and started reading Maze Runner by James Dashner since I’m meeting him on Monday.

    • frootjoos says:

      Ooh! How’d you manage that? ^_^ Borders just sent a promo copy of his book to all the stores (well, I’m assuming we got what everyone got) so I hope that means good sales for him in the coming weeks πŸ™‚

  3. Kristen says:

    I nabbed a ARC copy of The Maze Runner at ALA. 200 pages in and LOVING it. πŸ™‚

  4. frootjoos says:

    Ok, I actually finished Rapture tonight… L.A. Meyer does it again! I always have to say “the last one is my favorite” with the Bloody Jack series–because for some reason he manages to write a better book every time. May he never stop.

    Can’t wait to hear the audiobook; feverishly checking audible.com 8 times a day to see if it’s posted yet. *squee*!

Leave a Reply

