In My Mailbox – IMM 3

This meme is hosted by The Story Siren! IMM covers all the books I received in the mail, bought, donwloaded, or got as ARCs this week.

So, I tried to curb my book spending recently, since Husband just dropped $200 on the Sony Reader Pocket for me (henceforth to be called “Pocky”, or “Blue Pocky” if you want to be more formal about it).

I know, I know, there is no try.

addiction...

addiction...

Do, or do not. And I apparently do not.

From the top, then, starting with what I bought (gulp):

I picked up Sally Garner’s The Silver Blade, and now of course I have to pick up The Red Necklace, which is the preceding volume.

The Musician’s Daughter by Susanne Dunlap is getting mixed reviews, but let’s face it, I’m a sucker for 18th century European tales.

Days of Little Texas by R. A. Nelson, I actually know next to nothing about, but just look at it!

Days of Little Texas by R.A. Nelson

Days of Little Texas by R.A. Nelson

I think this is going to be a future YABC pick for me, if it’s good.

Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough put me off at first, I didn’t like the cover. Then I read the blurb, which claims that the protagonist “will unlock the secret of her true identity, unearth the sins of her family, and unleash a power so vengeful that it could destroy them all.” Hidden identities, check. Family skeletons, check. Apocalypse, check. Sold! This is right up my alley. I just hope it’s not disappointing like Immortal.

I’d been waiting impatiently for this:

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Now, I’m not a *huge* fan of steampunk sci-fi, but alt-history 1914 Europe + Austrian prince + flying whale warships = a damn good time, don’t you think?

One for the adults: In a Perfect World by Laura Kasischke. You’d think after just having finished The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood that I would have had enough of pandemics, but I guess it’s contagious (aauggh! did I really just write that? disgusting.)

One for the kiddies:

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart is not to be missed. I just love Reynie, Kate, Sticky and Constance; so glad their adventure continues. I’m surprised the audio reader they picked for this series was Del Roy, not Jim Dale. But he sounds pretty good.

Not pictured: The Everafter by Amy Huntley (bought), already started while waiting for Husband in the parking lot of a hotel in San Diego after our uncles took us to Extraordinary Desserts for dinner. Subsequently passed out in a sugar coma (damn you, Raspberry Linzer Torte! you were just too good) and forgot about the book which spent a few days buried in the clean laundry. (Distracted for a moment, looking for a chocolate pithivier recipe… aaaaand, I’m back!) October really seems to be turning into a YA ghosts-and-witches month for me, which is a nice change after all the grown-up books I read last month…

Also not pictured: The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Stacey was opening up the mail at work and found this–I think I may have squealed. Of course she knew who to give it to right away ^_^ , since it’s being compared to The Hunger Games. I hope it lives up to the hype.

Mentioned in a previous post, the Norton Critical Editions of Jane Eyre and Pride & Prejudice, Thornfield Hall by Emma Tennant, and Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys.

But wait! I’m not done yet.

I got sick of waiting for copies of Soulless by Gail Carriger to turn up, so I got it from the Sony eBookstore. In total, for the 50 books I have on my eReader I have spent less than $50. That, *and* I figured out how to get the graphic novel I bought (Black Hole by Charles Burns) to display larger on the screen: change the orientation to landscape and you won’t have to worry that the image won’t resize when you hit Zoom–the display automatically stretches to fit, thus giving you larger text! Phew.

Also picked up the new Audrey Niffenegger on Audible. The new Richard Dawkins, too. Although trying to listen to that while Husband was driving us home from San Diego in the cold and dark, in the midst of a Varlhona-chocolate-induced coma, was not a good idea. We may have to rewind.

That’s it for this week! Hopefully I’ll have less to report next week… If I “do” instead of “do not”.

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

7 Responses to In My Mailbox – IMM 3

  1. Chioma says:

    You are so lucky you got Leviathon. I am dying to read another Scott Westerfeld book.

  2. Juju says:

    Ooo the Maze Runner! Nice choice.

  3. Just *wow*. The Maze Runner and Leviathan. That’s a great week in itself! I think Once a Witch sounds good too.

  4. Jill says:

    Wow that’s all good stuff! I’m going back and forth on the ereader thing. HMMMMM. Happy reading!

  5. Hope you enjoy Her Fearful Symmetry. Me and the hubby just read it and enjoyed it (i think I enjoyed it more than he did though). Great books! Happy reading!

  6. amy says:

    Leviathan look simply amazing-can;t wait to get into it!
    -amy šŸ˜€

  7. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) says:

    I got Leviathan this week too! I have some of R.A. Nelson’s books and they look really good. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

