Quickie – A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb


4

A creepy, uncomfortable read with literary and spiritual tones. Definitely a discussion book. Issues of loss, lust, escape and compassion–definitely a mature teen read. Impressive how Whitcomb can convey themes of hope and love: quoting the Bible while criticizing outwardly devout but inwardly empty Christianity. The uber-Christians scared me more than the ghosts.

Don’t miss her other YA novel, The Fetch: a story of faith intertwined with Romanov speculation.

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

3 Responses to Quickie – A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

  1. Juju says:

    I didn’t dig this one. But isn’t the cover intriguing?

  2. Jill says:

    I’ve seen mixed reviews on this one. It might be one I listen to – I can rent it from the library that way.

  3. frootjoos says:

    It’s definitely not an easy read–I don’t say this because of the language, but because of the themes presented. I can see very much why conservative Christians would object to their portrayal in the book (I personally think it comes out all right in the end, but a stricter religious person, and I’ve got quite a few in my family, would probably not agree), and “sheltered” folks will balk at the sexual themes.

    Great for discussion, though.

Leave a Reply

