It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (1)

meme hosted by J. Kaye

meme hosted by J. Kaye

This week I finished Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick and Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days by Jeff Kinney.

I just started Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater and The Big Burn by Timothy Egan.

I started, then for whatever reason (i.e. laziness) put down Johannes Cabal the Necromancer by Jonathan L. Howard, Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link, Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace, and St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves by Karen Russell–all great books, but I just had to put them down and read something easier, like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, because my brain has recently been threatening to make an unrecoverable error and lose all saved data. And I don’t know about you, but I don’t have a backup system on my brain. Wish I did.

Books I plan to start this week if my brain doesn’t crash and burn include The Unseen by Alexandra Sokoloff, The Keeper by Sarah Langan [on eBook] (I guess you can call it mood-reading for Halloween), and Days of Little Texas by R. A. Nelson.

What are you reading?

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

11 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (1)

  1. Juju says:

    O
    Ballad
    SO
    jealous!
    Enjoy 🙂

  2. sandysays1 says:

    Checked my human’s books for the week. “Lighter than a Feather” by David Westheimer and “Wolf’s Rite” by Terry Persun. http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  3. J. Kaye says:

    I need to read Maggie Stiefvater, first book. No time this year though. I’ll have to wait until next year.

    Also, if you haven’t already, you might want to link up on today’s post here: http://j-kaye-book-blog.blogspot.com/2009/10/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-october_19.html

  4. Sue says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I know just what you mean – sometimes you just need a nice, quick & easy read to give your brain a break. I usually alternate between reading grown-up books and books for kids/teens. So many great books out there!

    Sue

  5. Faradiddle says:

    I’m reading Syren by Angie Sage. I will probably finish it by today and have a number of books I wish to start this week. It’ll be tough to choose which to start with.

    Whenever I feel I need a nice, quick & easy read, I tend to pick up a ~250pg regency romance book. Usually the kind that have been printed in the 1980s or so which are clean fun. So many fabulous book, so little time!

    I’ve been wondering about Johannes Cabal the Necromancer by Jonathan L. Howard. I’ve seen it everywhere and I look forward to your review.

  6. Uninvoked says:

    Oooh! Me! Pick ME!!!

    *scurries to get book*

    Okay, are you ready? I’m currently reading St. Mathew, and the “Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook.”

    They were both spendy, but worth it. ^^

    *Dashes off to read more.*

  7. Jenn says:

    You guys who can read more than one book at a time amaze me 🙂 I hope you had a great reading week! 🙂

    • frootjoos says:

      It’s a right-brained thing… if I don’t have more than 6 books going at once, I have to start something new ^_^ I can never just read one from start to finish without being in the middle of another.

  8. Have you finished Leviathan…if so how was it? I was contemplating reading this one. Let us know what you think

    • frootjoos says:

      Not yet done… I have a book club meeting on Sunday so I need to finish soon.

      I do like it! My husband gave it a 3, but he’s not used to reading juvenile lit. I think it’s at least a 4 out of 5 stars for me.

Leave a Reply

