I know you’re going to laugh at my New Year’s resolution…

So, the resolution is not to buy any books in 2010.

Books *required* for school are ok; but books that are just *suggested* are not.

My husband is quick to interject that books for series we are already following (and I’ll quote him: “Hunger Games Book 3!”) are also allowed. So Patrick Rothfuss, if you publish, we will buy!

Ok, ok, and books gotten for free don’t count as buying.

eBooks and audible downloads will likewise “not count” as they do not take up any space, which is mainly the no-book-buying issue I am seeking to alleviate.

It looks like I will finally be using that public library card I have been carrying around all this time… eeeee!

Ahem. This resolution is expected to save me over $3600 in the next calendar year. (um, yes, I do spend that much money per month on books. More in summers and winters.)

About frootjoos
reader, blogger, knitter, foodie, and community event organizer

4 Responses to I know you’re going to laugh at my New Year’s resolution…

  1. Juju says:

    Admirable but tough!
    Do vintage/used books count?

  2. frootjoos says:

    yep. Unless I buy them with bookstore credit. Of which I have some, but can never find when I most want it.

  3. Jill says:

    I need to make a resolution like this one! My book buying has gotten out of hand 🙂 I’m thinking of making one that is something like: I can only buy a book for every 7 or 10 I read.

    Good luck!!!

  4. Deborah says:

    I’ve wondered for a long time now how you could afford to buy all the books you do!!! I am a 3-4 times-a-week library visitor, plus I put books on hold constantly online, then simply wait for them to arrive via my local library (who gets them from a number of surrounding counties). I buy very few books anymore, now that I’m semi-retired. I think you may find it more worthwhile to fund your 401(k), if you have one, or a Roth IRA with the money you’ll save next year!

    Deborah

Leave a Reply

